Biao Chen

Current Students


Tiexing Wang

Yang Liu


Xavier Evans

Tina Wang



Shengyu Zhu (Ph.D. 2017): Huawei Noah’s Ark Lab, Hong Kong, China.

Pengfei Yang (Ph.D. 2016): Point72 Asset Management, New York, NY

Fangrong Peng (Ph.D. 2016): Aurora Innovation, Palo Alto, CA

Yu Zhao (Ph.D. 2016): Cruise LLC, San Francisco, CA

Earnest Akofor (Ph.D. 2016): Department of Mathematics, Syracuse University.

Fangfang Zhu (Ph.D. 2015): Micron Technology, Inc., San Jose CA.

Kapil Borle (Ph.D. 2015): May Mobility, Ann Arbor, MI

Ge Xu (Ph.D., Aug. 2013): Nuance Communications, Burlington, MA.

Wei Liu (Ph.D., May 2011): Bloomberg L.P.

Minna Chen: Shanghai, China (M.S., Dec. 2010).

Jin Xu (Ph.D., Apr. 2010): Google Inc.

Yi Cao (Ph.D., Dec. 2009): Qualcomm Flarion, Bridgewater, NJ.

Xiaohu Shang (Ph.D., Aug. 2008): Bell Labs, Alcatel-Lucent.

Bin Liu (Ph.D., Dec. 2006): USTC, China.

Ying Lin (Ph.D., Dec. 2006): West Washington University, Bellingham, WA.

Sean O'Hara (M.S., June 2006): Syracuse Research Corp.

Ruixiang Jiang: Hong Kong, China (Ph.D., Dec. 2005).

Hao Wang: Beijing, China (Ph.D., Dec.,2004).


Yilin Cui

Komal Rajendrakumar Gujarathi

Jiawei Wang

Ziqi Wang

Yuexin Jiang

Himanshu Neema


Oliva A Flynn

Mahbubar Moon

Josh Zhao

Xin Zhang

Recent News

Feb 2020: A recent work on presence detection using passive RF through deep learning was posted on arxiv. A news article about the work can be found here.

Sep 2019: A US patent ( US: 10,411,913, jointly with AFRL/RI) on massive MIMO-OFDM was issued.

April 2018: Shengyu Zhu is one of the winners of the 2018 All University Doctoral Prizes. Congratulations!

August 2017: Dr. Biao Chen is appointed the John E. and Patricia A. Breyer Professor in Electrical Engineering.

July 2017: Prof. Biao Chen was awarded an NSF grant to research energy efficient spectrum access for wireless systems.

all news